Two Months

Here I am, halfway through my study abroad adventure. I’m really confused. I honestly have no idea how time has flown like this. The first two weeks were really slow, I’ll give you that. I was sick, trying to adjust, and trying to find a good communication “schedule” with all of my family and friends. Now that I have everything figured out, I don’t know where the time is going. It’s March!

Since I flew across the ocean for the very first time, I have traveled to five different countries. Yes, you read that correctly. Five. I can’t believe it either. My best friend Victoria (who I miss very dearly) asked me the other day, “Do you ever go to school?” In case any of the rest of you were wondering: Yes, I do actually go to school! So, all of my traveling is definitely a challenge. I have had to finish homework far earlier than I am used to (I’m an expert procrastinator), and my returning flights to Leiden have usually been in the wee hours of Monday morning. I’ve had to spend Sunday night at an airport twice now. By the time I get back into my room on Monday and situate everything, it’s time for me to head to class. Thank goodness there’s a cappuccino machine at school.

Traveling is absolutely exhausting and stressful. I’m constantly anxious about getting lost, losing something, forgetting something, or making a stupid tourist mistake. I am always in a major time crunch trying to get all of my school work done before I leave for a trip on Thursday. It’s really hard to plan things in a city that I know nothing about. I don’t mention that in any of my blog posts because I feel like it’s not important. Every little worry I have is nothing compared to the amazing things I’ve been able to see and do. So yes, my posts most likely do make it seem like it’s all fun and games. But that’s just because in my mind, the fun and games are of the utmost importance.

I finished all of my midterm papers, so all I have left is one little exam tomorrow. Then, it’s officially spring break! Evan will be here Friday morning, and I am absolutely ecstatic. We are going to Paris, Rome, and Florence next week! Like I said, I just can’t believe how fast it all got here. I remember being ready to throw my computer out the window as we tried to plan this trip via Skype. It all came together though, and it’s only a few days away!

Even though it feels like my time here is quickly getting away from me, I still have so many incredible trips planned. There are only TWO WEEKS in the next two months for which I don’t have any traveling planned (and one of those weeks may still end up becoming a travel week). Things are about to get really busy, and I am getting a teensy bit nervous about all of that homework ๐Ÿ˜›

I love and miss all of you and it makes me really happy that you still read these ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

